Glamour and glitter, fashion and fame…

30 May

 

Hi, my name is Laura… and I crave nostalgia. In particular, the seemingly endless array of glittery, pink, fluffy toy lines of the 80s and early 90s.  I spend a bulk of my time scavenging thrift stores for any remnant of these treasures. My boyfriend actually inspired me to start this blog. I figured perhaps I could do something moderately worthwhile with my love of all things 80s.  When I’m not rummaging through bins of stationary, books, toys and (most notably) VHS tapes at the local Goodwill, I spend most of my time with him.  He is currently in Australia, but when he’s back in the states I am lucky enough to have him accompany me on my retro-centric outings. Fortunately for me, he is the coolest guy in the world. The kind of guy who *really* understands why it’s important to document a photo of an old wood grain paneled  Coke machine and why it makes sense to spend a Saturday night recreating the Disney Afternoon lineup on DVD over a bowl of popcorn.

 

 At the moment, I’m not certain what exactly I’ll be filling this blog with. I’d like to spotlight some of the more obscure, memory provoking cartoons and toy lines that have been forgotten by all but the die-hard fans of the genre. Maybe I’ll provide updates of my latest finds, and perhaps I’ll spotlight a random VHS from my massive collection every so often.  It is my first time trying this out… so I guess we’ll see what happens from here.  If it is pink, sparkly, cute, girly and retro, you’ll most likely find mention of it here.

 

5 Responses to “Glamour and glitter, fashion and fame…”

  1. Daniel85 June 1, 2008 at 2:18 am #

    Hey, hon. I’m so proud of you for finally starting your blog. I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun with it.

    I love the new layout. It’s very Laura.

    Oh, and we simply must get a photo of that awesome vintage Coke machine some time this summer.

  2. Reaper June 2, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Yay! Congrats on the new blog!

    Kickass font too! Although I hope the suits at Sunbow won’t close this thing down because of it. XD

    Looking forward to what treasures you blog about here in the future.

  3. Reaper June 2, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Damn it! I still get that lame looking snowflake as my avatar even on your blog. : (

  4. Daniel85 June 2, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    You can get rid of it by signing up for WordPress and uploading your own avatar. Those random avatars that non-registered users get are called ‘Identicons’, which sounds kind of like something from Transformers, lol.

  5. Reaper June 3, 2008 at 6:37 am #

    Ah! I thought I was signed up for some reason or maybe I was and lost the password. Yeah, I’ll have to do that and come up with something more 80’sish.

Leave a Reply

