Thrift store update

3 Jun

I really couldn’t have started this blog at a better time.  Today I had some pretty good finds.  I started off at a Goodwill that I don’t usually have the opportunity to check out. Its about half an hour away, and I had an appointment sort of near the area, so I decided to go up there, knowing that I was bound to find at least something to make it worth my effort. 

I arrived, and it was packed.  I headed straight for the toy aisle, reminiscing with slight regret about passing up the Mattel Dazzle boxed play set I saw last time I was there.  Right of the bat I found a MIB Xuxa fashion doll perched high upon a shelf that was overflowing with generic, rejected, carnival-won stuffed animals.  I immediately grabbed it with a laugh and decided for $2.99 it was worth it.  After further perusing the aisles filled with VHS tapes and miscellaneous junk, I grabbed a copy a The Chipmunk Adventure solely for the fact that the cover art was too cool to pass up, and a plastic envelope of unused vintage Lisa Frank stationary.  1993 RoseArt Glitter Magic Xuxa

 

Lisa Frank stationary circa 1989/90 Chipmunk Adventure VHS

All of that was pretty good I thought. Nothing fantastic, but still good. I thought that would probably be the high point of my  day. Until I stumbled across a Value Village that  I was unaware was in the area….

In this particular area that is north of my usual stomping grounds,  much to my disappointment, the thrift stores are  overflowing with swarms of ultra-trendy hipsters. The kind of people who truly think that its bizarre and unpractical to have such a sincere interest in nostalgia and random junk, but who laugh in a sort of ‘I’ve been told this is cool, so now I have to fall in love with it’ sort of way, and they inevitably end up being tough competition. 

 

I gazed out across the store, attempting to come up with a route to cover.  After being distracted by 5 boxes worth of VHS tapes lying on the ground, I picked up a Hugga Bunch tape, and  I set out to see what the rest of the store held. En route to the toy section, I overheard a group of several teens laughing at how incredibly ironic it was that their hip, modern friend of about 17, who is sporting facial piercings, was holding up an “I love Bingo” Tee.  I tried to stop myself from rolling my eyes and continued onward, I figured I’d loop back again and see if I missed anything. 

After looking at some miscellaneous household goods I tried to dodge the crowds and nearly ran directly into another customer’s cart.  As I passed by, I noticed the massively overfilled cart was toppling over with expensive, mainstream, trendy designer brand clothing (think Abercrombie, Calvin Klein, etc.) I was surprised to see that it was being hauled around by a true  edgy hipster couple. The woman had neon pink hair and a mini skirt, and he rocked the messy unshaven look.  The kind that don’t even have to try, they just automatically know they’re cooler than you.  I was a bit saddened by this. Because I know that no one ever expects me to be carrying around all the dorky knowledge I have in my head, and all because I’m *sigh* boring, and ‘normal’ looking.  My ears perk up when I hear Devo come over the speakers. This brings me comfort.  I give myself a small smile, and head back on my quest of returning to the toy section.

This section of the store wasn’t particularly organized very well. There were small plastic bags of assorted toys dispersed throughout 5 or 6 small racks on the end of the clothing aisles. I did a once-over and decided maybe that was it for today. Sometimes I become a bit distracted while thrifting, due to the crowds and the terrible fluorescent lighting. ( I have sensitive eyes) so I always feeling like maybe I’m missing out on finding things. Suddenly, something caught my eye.  A bit of pink doll hair jumped out at me. Devo was still playing, and my hopes were high. I untangled the bag and just as I had hoped… it was a Jem doll! Victory!!!  I’m constantly on the lookout for *any* sort of Jem merchandise. My radar must have really been on today. It has been over 5 years since I last found a single Jem item in a thrift store.  I kept looking, knowing there was a good chance that If I’d found one, there could easily be others. Within seconds I managed to score a Rio doll, and another version of Jem.

Jem dolls 1985

 It was exciting. I think I may have even vocally expressed it with some cheers of ‘awwww cool!’ and ‘yessss awesome!’ I was going through my stuff when I looked up on the shelf in front of me only to find a bag full of Wuzzles figurines. Icing on the cake. Pink icing, I’m sure. 

Wuzzle figurines 1985

I decided to grab a snack on the way home. I decided since I was in the area, I’d treat myself to some Dick’s. Yes, Dick’s Drive-in is a true Seattle classic. It is the kind of place that makes you feel like you’re going to gain 5 lbs just by driving past it.  I gave in and ordered fries and a strawberry shake.

 

15 Responses to “Thrift store update”

  1. Daniel85 June 3, 2008 at 5:00 am #

    Wow! I’m thrilled that you found Jem dolls. I know how much of a rarity that is. And I know how excited you got when you noticed there was boxed Jem stuff on the Sears toy shelves in Mac And Me, so actually finding some real Jem stuff must’ve felt amazing.

    There’s only one thing worse than a hipster, and that’s a Seattle hipster. I’m sorry you have to deal with those fuckwads.

  2. Laura June 3, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    Yeah, it was pretty awesome. You know how I’m always looking out for Jem stuff. I’d reaaally love to find one still in the box, even if it was in poor condition, it’d still be thrilling to find, lol. I highly doubt I’ll find one, but you never know. I’ve told you many times about the Stormer doll fiasco of 1992 (or somewhere around then) I guess I could always try to win one on Ebay… or better yet, maybe I’ll get one as a gift someday…

  3. Daniel85 June 3, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    Future wedding guests, are you listening?

  4. Laura June 3, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    Good idea, honey 😛

    *cough* engagement present *cough*

  5. Reaper June 3, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    Xuxa? Ha! I remember flipping through the channels and catching that before school.

    Although I agree with you the old Chipmunk Adventure cover is WAY better than the new one and I think my cousin used to have a poster of it. Something else to be on the lookout for.

    Is that a “Sit Ubu Sit” book?! : 0

  6. Reaper June 3, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    “3. Daniel85 – June 3, 2008

    Future wedding guests, are you listening?”

    Loud and clear but I’ll just customize a She-Ra and she’ll never know the difference…..right? XD

  7. Daniel85 June 3, 2008 at 2:22 pm #

    Don’t underestimate the toyline classification skills of a girl whose bookshelf includes a book on the history of Mattel fashion dolls, Grant.

    That TCA cover rocks. VHS covers in general are way cooler than their DVD counterparts. Mac And Me is a great example.

    We need to have some self-imposed sick days this summer where we stay in bed and watch some 80s animated flicks with synth-heavy soundtracks. I wish my life had a synth-heavy soundtrack. And then maybe long shifts at work could fly by as a thirty second montage. And I could be Ralph Macchio.

  8. Laura June 3, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    ‘Is that a “Sit Ubu Sit” book?! : 0’
    It sure is. I discovered it while browsing the film/tv section at Borders a couple weeks ago. Its pretty interesting. Lots of talk about the process of creating Family Ties. Plus lots of talk about that dog. I love dogs.

    ‘Loud and clear but I’ll just customize a She-Ra and she’ll never know the difference…..right? XD”

    Ha, nice try. You’re forgetting that She-ra is tiny compared to Jem’s approximate controversial 13 inches. Size does matter.

    “We need to have some self-imposed sick days this summer where we stay in bed and watch some 80s animated flicks with synth-heavy soundtracks. I wish my life had a synth-heavy soundtrack. And then maybe long shifts at work could fly by as a thirty second montage. And I could be Ralph Macchio.”

    Ok, we can do that. We really don’t spend enough time watching animated movies in general. I want life to have a synth-heavy soundtrack too. I love when we’re out together and we here some cool synth-heavy 80s pop song. I kinda get to imagine that its playing for us, lol.

  9. Reaper June 4, 2008 at 5:01 am #

    7. Daniel85 – June 3, 2008

    Don’t underestimate the toyline classification skills of a girl whose bookshelf includes a book on the history of Mattel fashion dolls, Grant.

    That TCA cover rocks. VHS covers in general are way cooler than their DVD counterparts. Mac And Me is a great example.

    We need to have some self-imposed sick days this summer where we stay in bed and watch some 80s animated flicks with synth-heavy soundtracks. I wish my life had a synth-heavy soundtrack. And then maybe long shifts at work could fly by as a thirty second montage. And I could be Ralph Macchio.
    ========================================

    Damn! I still think the only real flaw in that plan was announcing it on here before I actually did it. : (

    For sure, hand painted covers all the way for me. Although I noticed from the new Indy poster that even the old masters like Drew Struzan are now losing their touch. XD

    I appreciate the very sexy offer Dan, I really do but I’m spoken for now. However if you want to take a detour before you go to Seattle, I’m sure we can make that happen let me ask you though……

    Do you like gladiator movies? ; )

  10. Reaper June 4, 2008 at 5:07 am #

    8. Laura – June 3, 2008

    ‘Is that a “Sit Ubu Sit” book?! : 0′
    It sure is. I discovered it while browsing the film/tv section at Borders a couple weeks ago. Its pretty interesting. Lots of talk about the process of creating Family Ties. Plus lots of talk about that dog. I love dogs.

    ‘Loud and clear but I’ll just customize a She-Ra and she’ll never know the difference…..right? XD”

    Ha, nice try. You’re forgetting that She-ra is tiny compared to Jem’s approximate controversial 13 inches. Size does matter.

    “We need to have some self-imposed sick days this summer where we stay in bed and watch some 80s animated flicks with synth-heavy soundtracks. I wish my life had a synth-heavy soundtrack. And then maybe long shifts at work could fly by as a thirty second montage. And I could be Ralph Macchio.”

    Ok, we can do that. We really don’t spend enough time watching animated movies in general. I want life to have a synth-heavy soundtrack too. I love when we’re out together and we here some cool synth-heavy 80s pop song. I kinda get to imagine that its playing for us, lol.

    ========================================

    It’s a legit book. Wow! that’s just……wow!

    Jem is 13 inches too? I wonder where she hides it? Is it a Ray Finkle type thing where she had it surgically put on the back of her or is it a Crying Game type procedure?

    Don’t flatter yourself, Laura. Its clear he was talking to me. You may think your hot stuff but you ain’t got nothing me in my full glamour and glitter get up when I go out down to the docks as Jem to pay my rent. ; )

  11. Reaper June 4, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    Also, I think “Seattle hipster fuckdwads” are the BK kid of this blog. I have a feeling they’ll be making surprise appearances throughout future entries. XD

    You should take some pics of them for the Lulz.

  12. Laura June 4, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    Hm, as tempting as it is to want to vent about the um, annoying hipsters, (i refuse to personally use the term originally mentioned, after all… this blog is supposed to be for *nice* girls.) I’ll try to refrain from doing so all the time, because then I’d be complaining pretty much daily, lol. So I think for now I’ll stay away from all that negativity and focus on nice, cute things.

  13. Reaper June 5, 2008 at 4:03 am #

    But market research says this blog needs a new BK kid! How about if you come up with something related them that’s positive, nice, and cute instead? lol

  14. Laura June 5, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    Oh, I wouldn’t worry. I’m sure in time this blog will find its own BK equivalent.

  15. Reaper June 5, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    It better or I want a refund. : (

Leave a Reply

