More thrift junk

11 Jun

I had a pretty decent round-up of junk at the thrift store the other day,  and I could have spent time doing an actual detailed account of these items. However, I found something today to top all of this. It’s a pretty random, rare find.. so I’ve got to save up my creative energy to focus on that.  I won’t  reveal too much about it, though. You’re always supposed to leave them wanting more, right? But, I suppose I’ll give you a  little hint: It involves a star from a certain beloved 80s sitcom. So, I figured I’d just do a quick update. I like to share my happiness with all of you, so I guess its better just to post a quick recap then to have you miss out on the awesomeness of things like……..

GI Joe thermos, MASK thermos

Vintage G.I. Joe (1986) and MASK  (1985) thermoses! An excellent find at a mere .75 a piece.

Even though I’m an 80s girl at heart, how could I resist picking up items featuring a couple of  classic 80s boy licenses? Daniel and I have acquired quite a nice random assortment of 80s lunchboxes and thermoses.  I think it’d be cool to somehow display them in a kitchen. That is, if we’re lucky enough to end up getting a place that has a kitchen big enough for the both of us, and the collection.

Up next is a nice little Disney item. “Fluppy Dogs at the beach” Golden book from 1986.  Aww, the Fluppies were so cute, I loved them. I had a purple and white plush one when I was little.  For those who are unaware,  Disney’s Fluppy Dogs  was a 1986 one-hour animated special. It was intended to air as part of the Disney Afternoon block, but the pilot special wasn’t too successful, so plans for continuation of the series were scraped, unfortunately. The toy line, on the other hand, did prove to be at least somewhat profitable for Disney, with merchandise such as plush toys and books continuing to be produced throughout 1986, or possibly a few years longer.

Fluppy Dogs book

Finishing off this batch are two final items:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles TV tray, Smurfs album

A metal Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles TV tray from 1988, and a Smurfs sing-along album.

 

10 Responses to “More thrift junk”

  1. Reaper June 11, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    GI Joe, MASK, TMNT lunchboxes are Junk?! JUNK?! They’re like plastic Gold sent from the heavens down to Earth!

    However, I found something today to top all of this. It’s a pretty random, rare find.. so I’ve got to save up my creative energy to focus on that. I won’t reveal too much about it, though. You’re always supposed to leave them wanting more, right? But, I suppose I’ll give you a little hint: It involves a star from a certain beloved 80s sitcom.

    Its Urkel right? Please tell me its Urkel!!

  2. Daniel85 June 11, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    Those Thermoses are so cool. Remember when I found that Thundercats one? It’s too bad some of the picture got peeled off with the price sticker.

    Hmm. I’m gonna guess either Michael J. Fox, Alyssa Milano, ALF, or Malcolm Jamal Warner. It’s probably someone more obscure, though.

  3. Reaper June 11, 2008 at 10:44 am #

    Hmm. I’m gonna guess either Michael J. Fox, Alyssa Milano, ALF, or Malcolm Jamal Warner. It’s probably someone more obscure, though.

    Micheal Winslow Thermos FTW!

  4. Daniel85 June 11, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    I found out what it is, but I’ll leave it up to her to post the revelation.

    It’s… unexpected, to say the least.

    And I don’t think Laura would consider it ‘junk’. It’s kind of an affectionate term… like calling ourselves geeks. And remember, it all began on Retro *Junk*.

  5. Reaper June 11, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    It’s… unexpected, to say the least.

    And I don’t think Laura would consider it ‘junk’. It’s kind of an affectionate term… like calling ourselves geeks.

    Gotta be Jim “Ernest” Varney then. XD

  6. Daniel85 June 11, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    Not even close!

    Although we did watch ‘Ernest Saves Christmas’ last Christmas. It’d been a while since I’d seen it (even though it was a perennial Christmas classic for me as a kid). I completely repressed how creepy and pedophilic that movie is!

    I can’t get over how cool that MASK thermos is. You just don’t see MASK stuff cropping up very often.

  7. Reaper June 12, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    Does it involve Andrew Ridgely then?

    “I completely repressed how creepy and pedophilic that movie is!”

    God, I loved growing up in the 80’s!

    Me too, I think I met about 12 people online total who remember the show.

  8. Hooly June 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    everything you find is pretty much the best. that turtles tray is very nice, particularly because it is from before they were made ‘happy’ turtles with big, friendly smiles by the powers that be.

  9. Laura June 13, 2008 at 2:32 am #

    Hey! 🙂 I didn’t know you’d heard about my blog, Julian. Thanks for commenting. Yeah, what can I say I’m a dork… and I love finding all that stuff. I’m glad you can apperciate awesome junk, lol. Hopefully I can come to Australia someday, and Daniel can introduce me to everyone.. that is of course unless he decides to drag all of you up here for a wedding.. 😛 Just kidding.

  10. Reaper June 13, 2008 at 8:54 am #

    “that is of course unless he decides to drag all of you up here for a wedding”

    Oh! I know where to get the best choloroform!

Leave a comment