We’re Engaged!

24 Aug

Smurf couple on top of our bedroom bookcase. In the center is the beautiful vintage ring box Daniel presented my engagement ring in when he proposed. (also, while you're looking, note the shirt tales figure in back, so cute!)

Daniel and I got engaged a couple weeks ago.. and we found these adorable bride and groom Smurf figurines.  Actually, we found them before we got officially engaged, but we couldn’t resist them. We already knew we wanted to be together.  Honestly, how in the world could I resist a guy who was kneeling down by a glass cabinet full of Smurfs (They’re not second hand.. we picked them up at Magic Mouse Toys in downtown Seattle) calling out ‘Yeah, we’ll take the Smurfette bride and one of the Smurf grooms over there’  Those words were music to my ears. 

Laura and Daniel

Unfortunately, Daniel and I only had a few weeks together over the summer. We spent a great deal of time thrifting, and we had amazing luck. Now that I have time (more than enough time. Its driving me crazy. Really. ) I’ve decided to get back into blogging.  I simply have too much stuff not to justify posting some of it.  I can only hope that I’ll this kind of luck during the fall, but for now I’ve got so much material to write about, I really should catch up a bit first.  I must say that I’m surprised at the amount of MIB/MOC  toys we found this summer, I rarely would find even one a year. I acquired a couple  of 80’s Barbies, and two sets of Mattel Heart family dolls that looked like they’d stayed on the shelf for the past 15-20 years.  I guess for now I just have to find the motivation to attempt to begin the massive amount of pictures I must take, and creative words to find.. and due to my constant state of stress, that may prove to be a bit difficult.  Really though, I know you’re all excited to see treasures like Michael Jackson puffy stickers, right?

8 Responses to “We’re Engaged!”

  1. Reaper August 26, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    Congrats again on the engagment! : )

    Honestly, I’m surprised you were able to find non-second hand Smurfs somewhere. : 0

    I also have two questions:

    1) When does he come back to Seattle?

    2) Do you have a date set

    He should also do his own blog on this but with his own Dan twist on things. lol

  2. Hooly August 26, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    Congratulations! This is good news. I was going to award Daniel one elf point for the photo in the top right of the bedroom bookcase photo but I had to cancel it out for the ‘Laura and Daniel’ photo.

  3. Reaper August 26, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    For some reason I heard the words “Sha na na na” in my head at the end of this blog. XD

  4. Laura August 26, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    Yeah, I seriously think we’re going to play the theme from Family Ties at our wedding, lol.

  5. Reaper August 26, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Awesome, so long as I get to be Skippy! ; )

  6. Reaper August 27, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    It would be cool if he could go to your graduation too but I don’t remember when that is (Its both Spring 2009 for you right?). Would be nice if yours was later so that could happen.

  7. Reaper September 11, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    Do you guys have a timeframe of when you want to get married or no idea as of now?

    Katie/Sunriser wants to get married in 2010 or so but is not sure if she wants to get married in the Spring or Fall because its still in the planning phase. No idea, where I’ll be by then but I’m hoping to fly over there and then maybe check out NYC and the rest of the east coast when their on their honeymoon since I haven’t been over there in ages.

    Yours would be a little easier though since your state is right above me and I could probably drive up there if I can get some time off (although maybe flying is better with gas prices being what they are). That is assuming you get married here. That would be pretty awesome too since its been awhile since I’ve been to San Fransisco and I need to check out Oregon and all the cool 80’s film locations there. The Goonies! Kindgergarten Cop! Short Circuit! First Blood! Stand By Me! etc.

  8. carrie Coleman October 11, 2008 at 3:42 am #

    Hi,

    I have been seaching for sometime now for Christmas in the Northwest TV special and I cant believe you have it. How can I get a copy of that.
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

