Epic Mickey is going to be well, Epic!

5 Dec

Sooo excited for this game. OK, so this post doesn’t really have anything to do with anything girly and retro, I still think it totally counts given that most girls often step into other nerd territory as well. Plus, the whole game is based on vintage Disney designs.. However, I was pleased to see in the trailer that they show a bit of 1983’s Mickey’s Christmas Carol. That alone got me excited. Anyways.. just picked this up tonight as an early Christmas present to myself, and I’m super excited about it!

3 Responses to “Epic Mickey is going to be well, Epic!”

  1. Grant Lauritzen December 5, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    * Take It to The Next Level
    * Nancy Has Some Words For Little Miss Megatits By Gosh

    Wow! I’m trying to figure out how that’s tied to Mickey OR Disney.

    I don’t have the game but I’ve seen some of the concept art and it’s always nice to see Oswald the Rabbit make a comeback. It’s also nice to see Disney doing something a little different this time around with their games.

    Reminds me of that old SNES game- Mickey’s Magical Quest where you played through Steamboat Willie, Mickey and The Beanstalk and other classic shorts he was in. Of course, that game was made in 1995 so they did take some liberties with them in light of the limited technology. Good game though, if you don’t have it already.

    Also, just noticed the snow you have on here. I thought something was wrong with my computer when I started typing this or my eyes, at first.

  2. Grant Lauritzen December 5, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    Come to think of it, all the old school 2D Disney games are pretty fun. The music was always so catchy in them too, some others I played growing up:

    Chip and Dale’s Rescue Rangers
    Darkwing Duck
    Magical Kingdom
    Donald’s Quackshot
    Mickey Mousecapades (even though I got shit on the playground for liking this one)
    Ducktales (Never played the sequel though)

    I think just about every Disney Afternoon show got it’s own game at one point on the NES or SNES but I never got around to playing them all.

    I think they can do a lot more with the non-Pixar/Live-Action properties they have as Epic Mickey proves. I don’t mean like Kingdom Hearts but it would be interesting to see them tackle some of their 80’s animated films like Oliver and Company or The Great Mouse Detective.

    Maybe it would flop but I would definetly buy those.

  3. Grant Lauritzen December 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Here’s something else I miss that I just thought of…..

    Captron.

    I always think of Capcom when I think of Captron since I used to confuse them as a kid.

    Basically, it was a mall kiosk (barely even a store) about half the size of Hot Topic that was entirely dedicated to Nintendo games.

    They have to be out of business since I only knew of one mall that had a store, can’t find any info on here about it, and the last time I ever bought anything from there was when The Legend of Zelda: A Link to The Past came out in 1992.

    That one’s going to bother me until I see a pic of it again. Their store logo was pretty much a direct rip-off of the Capcom one, so maybe there was some kind of licensing issue there.

    I know they have Babbages, Software etc., Best Buy, and such today but this was almost like a Pre-Nintendo World thing and they had a lot of cool merchandise I have not seen anywhere since outside of e-bay and antique stores.

Leave a Reply

